September 5, 2023

RELEASE | Former New York Islanders, Anaheim Mighty Ducks forward Jason Krog joins SFU Red Leafs Coaching Staff

BURNABY – The Simon Fraser University Red Leafs Hockey Program is proud to announce the addition of Jason Krog to the coaching staff as a Hockey Advisor for the 2023.24 season.

Krog, a Fernie, BC native, began his playing career in the BC Junior Hockey League (now known as the BCHL) with the Chilliwack Chiefs, putting up 128 points in 60 games in his third season before accepting a roster spot with the University of New Hampshire Wildcats (Hockey East) in 1995. As a Wildcat, Krog was named to the All-Hockey East First Team three times (1997, ‘98, ‘99) and finished his fourth season at UNH being named to the Hockey East All-Tournament Team and All-NCAA All-Tournament Team, the Hockey East Player of the Year, and the 1999 Hobey Baker Award winner, receiving the honours over Brian Gionta (NHL: NJD, MTL, BUF, BOS) and Steve Kariya (NHL: VAN), and becoming the first and only UNH player to win the award.

“SFU has been a top program for a number of years,” says Krog, “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to collaborate with a great coaching staff and an elite group of student athletes.”

“Anytime you can add a former Hobey Baker Award winner to the group, it’s a win,” said Head Coach Mark Coletta.

“Jason adds instant professionalism and credibility to our program, and our players will stand to benefit and learn a lot from his involvement.”

His professional career included 202 NHL games for the New York Islanders, Anaheim Mighty Ducks, Atlanta Thrashers, New York Rangers, and Vancouver Canucks as an undrafted forward from 1999 to 2009, as well as over 600 additional games with several AHL and European league clubs up until 2016, including the Kontinental Hockey League (Russia) and Swedish Elite League. He would go on to win the Calder Cup with the AHL Chicago Wolves in 2008, as well as the Les Cunningham Award (AHL MVP), John B. Sollenberger Trophy (AHL Leading Scorer), Willie Marshall Award (AHL Leading Goal Scorer), Jack A. Butterfield Trophy (AHL Playoffs MVP), and be named an AHL First-Team All-Star that same year.